English EN
English
Heroes / GHOST Factory Racing Team / Team / Alexandra Engen

Alexandra Engen

Date of birth: 05/01/1988

Nationality: Swedish

Height: 174 cm

Weight: 65 kg

Hobbies: people, stories, crafts and cooking

Website: www.alexandraengen.com

Social media: www.facebook.com/engenalexandra/

The super Swede

Alexandra Engen got the “bike virus“ when she was allowed to test ride a friend’s downhill bike and discovered her passion for downhills. The young Swede’s new hobby was a source of concern to her mother, who registered her at the local cycling club instead, where her talent was quickly discovered and, after a few off-road training sessions, she was allowed to participate in her first regional race.

While she was at school, the now 27-year-old managed to bike and study while the dream of making money as a professional rider grew stronger and stronger. Alex used the time after graduating from secondary school race all over Europe, meet fantastic people and “to enjoy Swiss chocolate” as she confesses with a smile. Her break-through came in 2009 when she won the silver medal at the U23 World and European Championships. That year, the sprint specialist decided to move to Germany “to develop as a person and as a professional cyclist”.

Alex describes her first year in Freiburg as “fantastic, pretty much unbelievable”. Looking back at Alexandra’s 2010 season, it’s not hard to believe her: she made a lot of friends, learned countless new German words, secured her fourth Swedish Championship and crowned the year with World and European Championship titles in the U23 category. The likeable, happy-go-lucky Swede’s most successful year until then was followed by a tough winter with many injuries.

But Alex didn’t let herself get down, never doubted herself and won the Swedish Championship for the fifth time in a row in 2011 . In 2012, the Swede, who adopted Freiburg as her new home town, started her first season with the GHOST Factory Racing Team full of confidence and anticipation, focusing on one specific goal, saying “I’m really working hard to make it to the Olympic Games in London.” She was not only able to achieve this goal, but to also celebrate more incredible successes. Sixth place at the Olympics, sixth place at the World Cup in Windham, Swedish Cross-Country and Marathon Champion, World Cup victory at the Cross-Country Eliminator and the Eliminator World Championship title in the autumn were the highlights, even though she had a rough start to the season. A fall at the first training race of the season caused quite a setback, but made her comeback even more impressive. “The first year in the GHOST Factory Racing Team was the best of my career”, she concludes.

Even better years were to follow. The likeable Swede was able to add another XCE World Champion Title, her first XCO World Cup podium finishes, the XCE Overall World Cup victory, the second overall Bundesliga victory in a row and countless more achievements to her impressive list.

www.alexandraengen.com

2014

First place World Cup XCE Cairns / AUS 2014

2013

First place World Championships XCE Pietermaritzburg / RSA 2013 

First place World Cup XCE OVERALL / 2013
Fifth place World Cup XCO OVERALL / 2013
Fifth place World Cup XCO Albstadt / GER 2013
First place World Cup XCE Albstadt / GER 2013 - Val di Sole / ITA 2013
First place Bundesliga Overall 2013

2012

First place Bundesliga Overall 2012

First place World Championships XCE Saalfelden / AUT 2012
First place Swedish Championships XC 2007-2012
First place World Cup XCE Nove Mesto / CZE 2012
Sixth place Olympics, London 2012

"You just can’t go wrong with the LECTOR! No bike accelerates as fast or reacts to inputs so directly and precisely as the LECTOR. The frame is super-cool, as are the colours; and this year, there are so many trim levels that anyone can buy a suitable race-ready bike. Thumbs up for my favourite bike!”

German DE
German
Heroes / GHOST Factory Racing Team / Team / Alexandra Engen

Alexandra Engen

Geburtstag: 05.01.1988

Nationalität: schwedisch

Größe: 174 cm

Gewicht: 65 kg

Hobbies: Menschen, Geschichten, Handwerk und Kochen

Website: www.alexandraengen.com

Social: www.facebook.com/engenalexandra/

Die schnelle Schwedin

Alexandra Engen wurde vom „Rad- Virus“ angesteckt als sie das Downhillbike einer Bekannten testen durfte und ihre Leidenschaft zum Bergabfahren entdeckte. Ihre Mutter beobachtete das neue Hobby der kleinen Schwedin mit ungutem Gefühl und meldete sie stattdessen im örtlichen Radverein an. Dort wurde ihr Talent sehr bald entdeckt und nach einigen Trainingseinheiten über Stock und Stein durfte sie an ersten regionalen Rennen teilnehmen.

Während der Schulzeit gelang es der heute 27jährigen Biken und Lernen zu verbinden und langsam wuchs in ihr der Traum, eines Tages als Profi-Fahrerin ihr Geld zu verdienen. Alex nutzte die Zeit nach ihrem Schulabschluss um in Europa Rennen zu fahren, tolle Leute kennen zu lernen und wie sie lächelnd erzählt, „Schweizer Schokolade zu genießen“. Den Durchbruch schaffte sie schließlich 2009, als sie bei den U23 Welt- und Europameisterschaften die Silbermedaille gewinnen konnte. Noch im selben Jahr entschied die Sprintspezialistin nach Deutschland zu ziehen „um mich als Mensch und Radprofi weiterentwickeln zu können“.

Alex beschreibt ihr erstes Jahr in Freiburg als „fantastisch, fast unglaublich“. Blickt man auf Alexandras Saison 2010 zurück, fällt es nicht schwer, das zu glauben: Sie knüpfte viele Freundschaften, lernte unzählige neue deutsche Wörter, sicherte sich den vierten Schwedischen Meistertitel und krönte das Jahr mit den Welt- und Europameistertiteln der U23 Klasse. Auf dieses bis dahin erfolgreichste Jahr für die sympathische und fröhliche Schwedin folgte ein harter Winter mit vielen Verletzungen.

Doch Alex ließ sich nicht unterkriegen, zweifelte zu keiner Zeit sich selbst und meldete sich 2011 mit dem fünften Schwedischen Meistertitel zurück. Die Wahlfreiburgerin startete 2012 voller Selbstvertrauen und Erwartung in ihre erste Saison mit dem GHOST Factory Racing Team und hatte dabei ihr Ziel fest im Visier: „Ich arbeite hart und fokussiert daran, zu den Olympischen Spielen in London zu kommen.“ Dieses Ziel konnte sie in ihrem neuen Team nicht nur erreichen sondern weitere Erfolge feiern. Platz sechs bei den Olympischen Spielen, Platz sechs beim Weltcup in Windham, Schwedische Meistertitel in Cross Country und Marathon, Cross Country Eliminator Weltcupsieg und der Weltmeistertitel im Eliminator im Herbst waren die Höhepunkte. Dabei sah es zu Beginn der Saison gar nicht danach aus. Ein Sturz beim ersten Trainingsrennen der Saison warf Alexandra weit zurück, lies sie aber umso stärker zurückkommen. „Das erste Jahr im GHOST Factory Racing Team war das beste meiner Karriere“ war das Fazit.

Darauf ließ Alexandra noch weitere und noch stärkere folgen, ein weiterer WM Titel im XCE, ihre ersten Podestplätze beim Weltcup im XCO, der Gesamtweltcupsieg im XCE, der zweite Bundesligagesamtsieg in Folge und unzählige weitere Erfolge sammelten sich auf dem Konto der sympathischen Schwedin an.

www.alexandraengen.com

2014

1. Platz Weltcup XCE Cairns / AUS 2014

2013

1. Platz Weltmeisterschaften XCE Pietermaritzburg / RSA 2013 

1. Platz Weltcup XCE OVERALL / 2013
5. Platz Weltcup XCO OVERALL / 2013
5. Platz Weltcup XCO Albstadt / GER 2013
1. Platz Weltcup XCE Albstadt / GER 2013 - Val di Sole / ITA 2013
1. Platz Bundesliga Gesamtwertung 2013

2012

1. Platz Bundesliga Gesamtwertung 2012

1. Platz Weltmeisterschaften XCE Saalfelden / AUT 2012
1. Platz Schwedische Meisterschaften XC 2007-2012
1. Platz Weltcup XCE Nove Mesto / CZE 2012
6. Platz Olympia London 2012

„Mit dem LECTOR kann man einfach nichts verkehrt machen! Kein Rad geht so dermassen schnell nach vorn und setzt Inputs so direkt und präzise um wie das LECTOR. Der Rahmen ist super cool, die Farben auch und dieses Jahr gibt es so viele Ausstattungsvarianten, dass wirklich jeder das passende, rennfertige Rad kaufen kann. Daumen hoch für mein Lieblingsrad!“