Heroes / GHOST VIP / Team / Juliane Schumacher

Birthday: November 18, 1987

Nationality: German

Job: freelance copywriter and blogger, web design with WordPress, social media management

Hobbies: cycling, sewing, writing, photography, bouldering

Website: www.radelmaedchen.de

Social Media: @radelmaedchen (Instagram, Facebook, Twitter, YouTube)

 

The path to cycling

During her bachelor's degree, Juliane discovered cycling for herself, rode her donated low-entry city bike all over Berlin, and soon realized pretty clearly how good cycling was for her. By the time she decided to get another master's degree after 1.5 years in the workforce, cycling was already firmly rooted in her life. The theme of her final collection was bike wear for everyday use: "Radelmädchen. Urban fashion for women with and without bikes."

"When I started studying fashion design in my hometown Berlin in 2008, I never imagined where it would lead me one day and especially how little I would end up having to do with my studies in my everyday work!"

From "Radelmädchen" to author

In addition to cycling, Juliane has another hobby: writing.
In 2014, her blog radelmaedchen.de went online and has since been dedicated to cycling in all its different facets - from everyday cycling in the big city, to weekend trips, to a multi-week cycling trip through Ireland. Only fashion became less and less dominant.

In 2007 she published her first book, which was entirely dedicated to the topic of urban cycling and, in the year of the 200th bicycle anniversary, drew a lot of attention to her person as well as her blog: 

  • Media presence
  • Radio interviews
  • Television appearances

Graveling embodies freedom

When Juliane's first gravel bike moved in in 2018, she was quickly hooked and her perspective on cycling changed completely once again. She not only rediscovered her home and the Brandenburg forests, but also began to discover and enjoy traveling by bike in a completely new way on multi-day bikepacking tours alone or with friends and at events.

"With the Gravelbike a completely new world opened up to me. Riding through the forest away from busy roads, experiencing new paths and taking the odd trail along the way, without worrying too much about whether my bike would be able to handle it now, has embodied the absolute freedom of cycling for me ever since."

From hobby to profession

Juliane has never seen cycling as a sport or training. For her, the bicycle has always been a mixture of a means of transportation in everyday life, recreational fun and a way to switch off.

Since she discovered graveling for herself, the bicycle became bit by bit also the professional focus:

  • Tourism cooperations
  • Journalistic texts and articles around the bike
  • Web design and WordPress
  • Podcasts
  • content creation

In 2022, another step in her career awaits her: she will become part of the GHOST family.

Julianes Bikes

Actionimage
Actionimage
Actionimage
Actionimage

Dealer

Find your GHOST bike near you

Here is a list of all authorized GHOST dealers. Just enter your zip code or city and click search to see a list of all dealers near you.

On the dealer page, you will see the available models. Please also contact the dealer directly to find out if your dream bike is available today.

Please note that we can’t guarantee that the information is up-to-date, correct and complete. If in doubt, please contact the dealer directly to find out if the bike is still available.

search dealer

Please enter an address first

dealer search
reserve a bike
test a bike

Heroes / GHOST VIP / Team / Juliane Schumacher

Geburtstag: 18. November 1987

Nationalität: deutsch

Job: freie Texterin und Bloggerin, Webdesign mit WordPress, Social Media Management

Hobbies: Radfahren, Nähen, Schreiben, Fotografieren, Bouldern

Website: www.radelmaedchen.de

Social Media: @radelmaedchen (Instagram, Facebook, Twitter, YouTube)

Der Weg zum Radfahren

Während des Bachelor-Studiums entdeckte Juliane das Radfahren für sich, fuhr mit ihrem geschenkten Tiefeinsteiger-Citybike kreuz und quer durch Berlin und merkte bald ziemlich deutlich, wie gut ihr das Radfahren tat. Als sie sich nach 1,5 Jahren in der Arbeitswelt entschied, noch einen Masterabschluss zu machen, war das Fahrrad schon fest verwurzelt in ihrem Leben. Die Abschlusskollektion stand ganz unter dem Thema alltagstauglicher Fahrradbekleidung: „Radelmädchen. Urbane Mode für Frauen mit und ohne Fahrrad.“

“Als ich 2008 begann Modedesign in meiner Heimatstadt Berlin zu studieren, hätte ich nie gedacht, wohin mich das einmal führen würde und vor allem, wie wenig ich am Ende noch mit meinem Studium im Arbeitsalltag zu tun haben würde!“

Vom Radelmädchen zur Autorin

Neben dem Radfahren hat Juliane ein weiteres Hobby: Das Schreiben.
2014 ging ihr Blog radelmaedchen.de online und widmete sich seitdem dem Fahrrad in den verschiedensten Facetten – vom Alltagsradfahren in der Großstadt, über Wochenendtrips bis hin zur mehrwöchigen Radreise durch Irland. Nur die Mode wurde immer weniger dominant.

2007 veröffentlichte sie ihr erstes Buch, welches sich ganz dem Thema des urbanen Radfahrens widmete und im Jahr des 200. Fahrradjubiläums ihrer Person, als auch ihrem Blog einiges an Aufmerksamkeit schenkte: 

  • Medialen Präsenz
  • Radiointerviews
  • Fernsehauftritte

Graveln verkörpert Freiheit

Als 2018 das erste Gravelbike bei Juliane einzog, war es schnell um sie geschehen und ihre Perspektive aufs Radfahren veränderte sich noch einmal komplett. Sie entdeckte nicht nur ihre Heimat und die Brandenburger Wälder neu, sondern begann auf mehrtägigen Bikepackingtouren allein oder mit Freunden und auf Events, das Reisen mit Rad völlig neu zu entdecken und zu genießen.

"Mit dem Gravelbike tat sich mir eine völlig neue Welt auf. Abseits viel befahrener Straßen durch den Wald zu fahren, neue Wege zu erleben und dabei den ein oder anderen Trail mitzunehmen, ohne mir groß Gedanken zu machen, ob mein Fahrrad das jetzt mitmacht, verkörpert für mich seitdem die absolute Freiheit des Radfahrens.“

Aus Hobby wird Beruf

Juliane hat das Radfahren nie als Sport oder Training gesehen. Das Fahrrad war für sie immer eine Mischung aus Fortbewegungsmittel im Alltag, Freizeitspaß und eine Möglichkeit abzuschalten.

Seitdem sie das Graveln für sich entdeckte, wurde das Fahrrad Stück für Stück auch zum beruflichen Mittelpunkt:

  • Tourismuskooperationen
  • Journalistische Texte und Beiträge rund ums Rad
  • Webdesign und WordPress
  • Podcasts
  • Content Creation

2022 wartet nun ein weiterer Schritt ihrer Karriere: Sie wird Teil der GHOST-Familie.

Julianes Bikes

Händler

Finde dein GHOST Rad in deiner Nähe

Hier findest du eine Übersicht aller GHOST Händler. Einfach deine Postleitzahl oder Ort eingeben und auf Suchen klicken. Du bekommst dann alle Händler im näheren Umkreis angezeigt.

Auf der Händlerseite findest du die vorrätigen Modelle. Bitte informiere dich zusätzlich beim Händler, ob dein Traumbike heute verfügbar ist.

Bitte beachte, dass wir keine Garantie für die Aktualität, Richtigkeit oder Vollständigkeit der Informationen übernehmen. Bitte informiere dich im Zweifelsfall direkt beim Händler, ob das Bike noch vorrätig ist.

Händlersuche

Bitte zuerst eine Adresse eingeben

suchen
reservieren
testen